part-time job

<p>Hi guys, i am an incoming freshman with no work experience in high school. I wanted to ask if its easy enough to work for like 7-10 hours per week your 1st semester? Can you please share your opinion/experience with me? Thanks.
And lets say i have no classes or homework to do on 3 days of the week. Can i work all 7-10(or maybe more) hours on those particular days?
I got a job at Gordon, if that helps.
Thanks. </p>

<p>Good for you, getting the job at Gordon’s! At the same time, I would not recommend working more than about 10 hours a week. Even if you only have class 3 days a week – which is unlikely because you will have discussion sections which often are on different days than classes – you will still have lots of work to do to prepare for class. A good working estimate is that it takes 2-3 hours of work outside of class, per week, for every credit hour of class you have. A 15 credit schedule means you have 30+ hours of homework outside of class per week. It is not realistic to think you can work 7-10 hours on a single day, and you are very unlikely to get a shift from Gordon’s that would be that long. Most shifts are tied to meal times and, as I recall from my son as a freshman, were at most about 4-5 hours. Maybe someone else knows more current information. </p>

<p>Good luck, and congrats. </p>