Student Employment

<p>What is like to work on campus (e.g. Dining & Culinary Services)? How many hours per day (on wisc web, it says 7-10 hrs per week)? Will we have some free times to study?</p>

<p>Anyone can share their experiences =D ??</p>

<p>Oh also, if I apply to work on campus, will i have shorter holidays? ('cas I'm an international student and want to fly back during christmas's holiday XD)</p>

<p>Many many students work part-time and do just fine. 7-10 hrs a week is nothing. Many work 20 hrs or more and still carry a full load. You just have less goof-off time but working also can help make friends.</p>

<p>If you’re an international student, make sure you are legally allowed to work in the US. Working for Housing is still a real job and involves paying taxes, etc, so make sure that your visa allows you to work in the US, otherwise you won’t be able to get any sort of legitimate job.</p>

<p>Good point–internationals can work on campus with some limitations.</p>

<p>[US</a> Employment Rules for F1 Students (On Campus) : International Financial Aid Blog](<a href=“http://www.internationalfinancialaidblog.com/2006/10/us-employment-rules-for-f1-students-on-campus.html]US”>http://www.internationalfinancialaidblog.com/2006/10/us-employment-rules-for-f1-students-on-campus.html)</p>

<p>Thx Barrons and RoxSox =D</p>

<p>I wonder another thing… will i still have some times to do activities, clubs, or any sports??</p>

<p>Yeah totally, though since they’re usually at a set time each day make sure your schedule allows it.</p>

<p>It can be done. Food service work is not glamorous but helps pay the bills and often hours can easily accomodate class schedules- although getting up extra early to serve breakfast or closing out the late night place shifts may come with the job (I worked Res Halls food service eons ago). You do need to check on visa rules. </p>