Petroleum Engineering

<p>I'm an upcoming freshman at tech who was accepted into engineering. I'm not really sure what specific type I want to go into yet, so I'm glad we have a year to decide. I do think I want to do something to help with energy conservation and to help find simpler ways to get oil, etc. I know tech doesn't have a petroleum engineering major, but sounding like something that might interest me in the future, is it still possible to get a petroleum engineering job out of college as a different engineering major? If so, which ones specifically?</p>

<p>I think you could do any of the engineering disciplines and be well prepared to enter a petroleum engineering or energy related career. Take a look at any of the Materials, Mechanical, System or Industrial Engineering course requirements for example, then take a look at an undergraduate degree that is specifically for petroleum engineering at another institution I bet you will see a lot of overlap as an undergraduate engineering degree is going to give you a strong foundation. Depending what direction you take you could end up doing a masters anyway which could be done somewhere else. I am sure you will find a great degree/electives/concentration to get you there.</p>

<p>Also take look at the undergraduate and graduate career survey reports (<a href=“http://www.career.vt.edu/PostGraduationSurveyReport/PostGrad.html[/url]”>http://www.career.vt.edu/PostGraduationSurveyReport/PostGrad.html&lt;/a&gt;) to see which companies typically recruit from VT. You can filter by major or college.</p>

<p>Go to this link: <a href=“Engineering Expo | Student Engineers' Council | Virginia Tech”>Engineering Expo | Student Engineers' Council | Virginia Tech;

<p>Find a company you’d be interested in, and then look at what majors they’re interested in.</p>

<p>I’d go with ChemE, MechE or Industrial. The best thing to do would be to see what professors are doing work on that sort of thing once you get on campus.</p>