Please give me some advice about my transfer thought and school! [international student, <$30k, finance or economics]

Hello! I am an international student from China. I already spent two years in a Chinese university (approximately 55 credits after certification), and I found that I did not like the academic environment, so I listened to a relative recommended come to a CC now. But I don’t want to cause a huge financial burden to my family and I thought the UC system was too expensive for me. So I decided to prepare for the Spring transfer to BYU or some cheap public university, and some lower ranked LAC that can give me a scholarship. I think my dream school is BYU. Can you give me some advice about my transfer thought and school? I do not familiar with LAC. Thank you very much!

What are your grades like up to now? Most people here in the US will not be familiar with Chinese grading scales, so it would be helpful to know how your grades compare to other students. Are you in the top 50%? Top 20%? Top 10%?

Also, what is your major?

Are you open to considering Canada in addition to the USA?

Do you have any results from the TOEFL or a similar test?

A bit more information will make it easier for us to give you useful information.

Also, what amount would be comfortably affordable to your family?

International transfers do not as a rule qualify for scholarships. It would depend, of course, whether you need a 20k scholarship and can afford 50k, or whether you need a 50k scholarship…

Why BYU? Are you LDS (Is that even allowed in China?) Or are you a Christian wanting a strict/conservative, religious environment?

What would your major be?

Thank you for your reply! My Chinese university is about Top 20% in China, and my grades is in the top 20%. My major is finance or economic.

Yes, I can consider Canada, but I’m not very familiar with Canada university. I have TOEFL score and it is 86. :blush:

1 Like

I don’t want to exceed 30k…:cry:

1 Like