Prep Schools Admission Recommendations Question

Hi.

I am a high school freshman coming from one of the day schools in the top 10 high schools in the United States. (NICHE rankings)

I am thinking of considering for boarding school admissions for the top schools, and I am reapplying to most of them next year, which I got waitlisted and some rejected last year.

I used to have 4.0 unweighted GPAs for my 7th and 8th grade, but in new school is hard to adjust.

The teachers are all HYPS or Ivy PhDs and generally very strict with grading inside this school. That’s why we have a pass/fail system for freshman year, but I am worried about my recommendations from my teachers, especially math.

For math I am currently taking Geometry Advanced, which is a course that focuses in mostly mathematical logic and complex proofs for theorems for Eucledian Geometry, and covers Non-Eucledian Geometry.

It is a much harder course then your average high school geometry course, negating simple aspects of geometry in most other high school geometry courses, and I would say I am doing horribly in the course (like B- or C+) in letter converted grade scale.

I’m not really worried about my grades since its pass/fail for all freshman transcripts, but I am concerned about my recommendations. I won’t be that “shining star” in recommendations since everyone else is competitive, and I am wondering if the AOs consider that, especially since our school is focused very much in academics, and generating multiple professors, Intel Science finalists, and other prodigies in the school.

For other courses, I tend to have a average of A- for the freshman year, which are Latin, Freshman Seminar, Biology I, Ancient History, and English 9.