Preread came back positive but not eligible for likely letter Hopkins

I am a prospective student-athlete in the Class of 2024, being recruited by Johns Hopkins. I am in the process of navigating the recruitment.

My pre-read with admissions came back positive, indicating that I should have a good chance of being admitted. However, I’ve been informed by admissions that despite my pre-read results, I won’t be eligible for a “likely letter.”

I find this a bit perplexing, given that my academic stats are quite strong, even for a Hopkins applicant: a 1550+ SAT score and a 4.0 GPA, along with a rigorous course load (all they look at for pre read). This leaves me curious and admittedly, a little worried about what’s to come.

The coach has been incredibly supportive and is resubmitting the pre-read in the hope that admissions will reconsider their stance on the likely letter. But, the uncertainty of the situation has been stressful and I am hoping to find some understanding through shared experiences.

Does anyone have experience with a situation like this, or any insight into how these processes generally work? I’m particularly interested in knowing why a strong pre-read wouldn’t result in a likely letter, especially when academic and athletic qualifications align so strongly.

Any advice, thoughts, or similar stories would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Did you speak with admissions or was this thru the coach? I assume we are talking about one of JHU’s D3 sports…are you sure they give LLs to all athletes who passed pre-reads and who apply with full coach support?

This is a question to ask the coach. Who in turn will ask admissions. Is your 4.0 GPA an unweighted GPA?

Ask the coach if the AO’s stance has ever been reversed before. If this decision stands, ask them what proportion of recruits in your situation (had a positive pre-read, decline to provide LL) have been admitted when they applied (assuming ED).

Are you in the recruiting process elsewhere?

9 Likes