Q Dropping two classes?

I am a sophomore geology major at a&m, and I am taking calculus 251 (calc 3) and physics 218 (mechanics) this semester. The thing is that my teachers are GOD AWFUL. They don’t teach and their tests are insane and literally the questions don’t even make any sense. Anyone that has taken engineering classes at a&m will understand how hard it is, but this is even worse. I’ve done absolutely terribly on the first few tests and I’m extremely worried that I might have to drop both classes because I don’t want a D, let alone a C. I’m usually a good student and have had a 4.0 gpa up to this point and I don’t know what to do. Does it look really bad on your transcript to drop two classes in one semester? i’m taking 15 hours so I would only have 8 left if i dropped both. Thanks

I’m taking phys 218 right now, I can confirm this class is hell. Doesn’t help that 9 out of 10 people in this class have already taken AP physics C (and mostly gotten 5’s) and have absolutely destroyed this year’s curve. /rage

Applerocks155 – You have a tough load and my heart goes out to you! This happens all the time, especially with Physics classes and I think your transcript will ok, even with Q drops. For example, when you interview at the career fair, you will bring only your resume to start and that doesn’t have any Q drops on it. Both my daughters only sent transcripts a long way into the interview process. But my thoughts would be to talk to your advisor about the ramifications of being a part-time student if you drop both classes (ie. scholarships.) Because of these situations, lots of people end up taking Phys 218 or Physics 208 in the summer when you can tackle it alone. There are many ways to tackle the problem but I am so sorry you have the bad teachers! It always seems so unfair!