Questbridge finalist chances

Hey! As I am starting writing my questbridge essay, I started browsing CC for past stats of Questbridge finalists. I realized many of the finalists are top 1% or top 10% of their class. I go to a big, competitive school in Bay Area, and it is hardly I could make to the 10% rank. right now I have a UW GPA 3.93. *I do have extenuating factor impacting my class performance that I would put on my application.

Should I even be trying QB?

1 Like

If your family income is less than $65k, you should apply. I would caution against explaining why a 3.93 uwGPA has been impacted by negative circumstances, regardless of class rank.

1 Like

Yes! Apply! QUESTBRIDGE is an amazing opportunity!

1 Like

thank you for replying back. Four my sec semester junior year, I was diagnosis with disease and dropped 2+ courses. Other than that, I am a straight A student all throughout my 9-10 and 1st semester 11th grade. Should I still be mentioning the “negative circumstances?” *My school does not have ranking.

QB is probably the best place to mention extenuating circumstances. much better than common app afaik. I’m a QB CPS scholar and going to apply to NCM so good luck :] I think you have a great chance for finalist !

2 Likes

Thank you! Good luck to you too :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you :slight_smile:

What’s your test score. The test profiles of finalists are much lower than regular university admissions.

https://www.questbridge.org/high-school-students/national-college-match/finalist-profile

1 Like

Don’t be misled by how that test info is written on that page, nor does it give an average score, or mid-50% range.

All QB partners are test optional again this year (several are test blind), so applicants do not have to submit a test score.