Spelman?

<p>I am a senior, an I am applying to Spelman. I show a lot of passion through my application, even though I had less than stellar grades (those were explained in my recommendations from Guidance Counselor and teacher). But life goes on. My recommendations explained all that I have had to go through during my high school years, such as having a terminally ill father and a mother who has been intstutionalized three times, and also a breast cancer survivor. This is on top of my own kidney disease that I have been born with.It has been hard generally thoughout my life with both households, except before high school I was a perfect student getting mostly A+'s and always getting the best grades in my class, but as I got to high school, things had gotten worse. It has been hard throughout high school, especially last year, because there would be times in which both households were not exactly the greatest for me to live in, so it was really a struggle. I had even applied to boarding school last year with the help from my cousin, because I had needed to get away. (I didn't end up getting in, because they do not normally except seniors ever). So, my low GPA (3.0 out of 4, and 3.5 out of 5), has been explained. I have taken a total of 8 regular college preporatory courses, 17 honors, and one AP (World History). </p>