SUNY Oswego vs SUNY Oneonta for English

Hello! I am a student who was accepted into both SUNY Oswego and SUNY Oneonta for the fall 2023 semester. I’m transferring from a small community college and I need help figuring out which option would be right for me. I’m looking to get an English major.

Money isn’t something I’m factoring into my choices, as I have a scholarship for both colleges that covers most of the tuition. The rest of the money owed will be paid off.

I’d like to know about what people think about both of the colleges around certain aspects (basically a comparison between the two colleges).

1. The campus life
  2. The town (and the general area)
  3. The dorms and food
  4. The english department

Any advice/insight about this? Thank you!

1 Like

Google each school plus niche. Ratings and student comments.

Can u visit both ?

1 Like

I already visited both schools and I looked at ratings on Niche, Google and other sites. I’m just struggling to decide where to go.

Guess what - it could be you’d excel at both. There’s not necessarily one right fit. Pick one and run. Or look at the English curriculum and the profs rate my professor pages.

Oswego is on the lake so that’s gonna be worse weather.

Hopefully you’ll get some comments from people with firsthand experience at one school or the other, which I’m sure is the kind of insight you hoped to gain by posting!