To anyone that considers himself or herself a good writer

<p>I'm pretty sure anyone who's considering journalism as a major must have some sort of writing talent.</p>

<p>Well, as a high school student, I was just wondering:</p>

<p>Would you say people become good writers through a lot of practice/experience, or simply through their own natural and/or creative ability to write? Or maybe a combination of both?</p>

<p>About the natural ability, I've heard of stories of astounding writers who received no formal education in writing, so this surprises me a lot.</p>

<p>Would reading books also have a significant impact on your writing style?</p>

<p>I've had classmates whose writing ability I've noticed has flourished quickly over time, while others maintain the same level of writing performance or very slowly demonstrate advancement their writing skills.</p>

<p>Judging my own writing ability, this would probably be the best way to describe it:
-Not that fluid in English writing as I'd like to be
-My sentence syntax is too basic
-I always end up spending a lot more time trying to express my ideas on paper than I need to. The essay comes out fine, but it takes a while to spew out my ideas in my head onto paper in an organized fashion
-People say my writing is pretty stiff, possibly monotonous
-Never really had a good English teacher since 7th grade(even though I got A's in the courses)</p>

<p>Even though I'm probably not going to pursue a journalism career, or a English major, I'd still like to be a proficient writer. Will intro English college courses at a higher tier UC help me achieve this, or will I have to be more proactive about improving my writing? Thanks.</p>

<p>Yes yes yes yes yes.</p>