To current/previous prep school students-- What is harkness really like? (especially for Exeter)

hi, current '26 applicant here.

one of the schools i’m applying to is exeter, which seems to really, really emphasize harkness. i was wondering for current/past students there, as well as any students who went to a school with a similar discussion-based class system, what is it really like? is it hard transitioning from a previous school to this kind of new system? i’ve seen a bunch about it on exeter’s website and i know of the basics surrounding how it works, but i’m curious about real student perspectives.

(sorry if this has already been asked, i don’t think i’ve seen a thread ab it and i’m curious)

Hi, I’m a current student at Exeter!

Everyone goes through some kind of adjustment for Harkness learning, but the scale and difficulty of the adjustment depends on the student and their past experiences. At my previous school, my English class emphasized Harkness-style discussions of our texts, and due to this frequent practice, my transition to Harkness in humanities was the smoothest.

From what I’ve seen, Harkness in math is a bumpy transition for most people. New students placed in higher-level math classes often move to lower levels after a few weeks, and this is expected. Math classes here are not based on any formal textbook, lectures, or “teaching” by the teacher in the context that most people are used to.