Hotchkiss vs Andover

Hi, I am an 8th grade and I applied to many if the top U.S boarding schools this year. I received no rejection, a few waitlists and a few acceptances. I was able to narrow my list down to 2, The Hotchkiss School and Phillips Academy Andover. I love both, and with decisions due in 3 days, I am lost. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

I have no experience with either of these schools but before anyone has the time to respond to you I would suggest scrolling through some previous threads that had described the culture at Hotchkiss and Andover. I would link it here but I have no idea how to do that!

2 Likes

Thanks, I tried to find some that are specific to these two, but my search was in vain.

Forgot to give any academic perspective Straight A+ student with most of my classes being honors, 2310 SSAT (98th%ile), I don’t procrastinate and I prefer Humanities to STEM.

Hotchkiss is a smaller school

1 Like

Hotchkiss is smaller, with a more close knit community. I’ve been told that everyone knows each other, and the school culture seems great. The Hotchkiss campus itself is beautiful, and surrounded by nature. While beautiful, note that it’s kind of in the middle of nowhere. Hotchkiss is also a bit less independent than Andover, in terms of structure and school life. Hotchkiss also has a more formal dress code than Andover.

Academically you can’t go wrong, however, Andover will likely have a fair amount more homework and be slightly more competitive. Hotchkiss will likely provide a bit more of a balanced high school experience than Andover.

Andover has an open campus, with a decent sized town just down the street. Andover is also only a half hour train ride from Boston, making it much more metropolitan than Hotchkiss.

Hotchkiss has a great arts and music program, if that’s something that appeals to you.