Transfer Miami

I’m a freshman at Manhattan College in NYC. I had a 3.7 GPA my first semester and I have a 3.8 right now. I don’t really like the small school environment and I want to go further away from home.( I’m from NY) I was denied from UMiami last year with a 3.2 GPA and a 1200 SAT. What are my odds of being accepted this time around? I need this, I really don’t see myself here next year!

Yes, I think you have a good chance! Transferring from a college means you can handle college classes and your GPA is excellent. Transferring requirements are easier than freshman. Freshman average GPA in 2017 was 3.7uw, mid-range scores 1320. While your SAT is lower, colleges consider the GPA more than standardized scores because they don’t want someone who is smart/lazy who might flunk-out because they are lazy. You’ve already proved you can handle college curriculum; I think that will override your SAT score. From their website: “We conduct a holistic review and will consider all items of your application including standardized testing (if necessary), grades (both high school if necessary and college), essay, work experience, etc. However, the bulk of our focus will be on your collegiate-level work.” Warning: Their admissions are snails-pace.