Truman Visit

<p>Hey all,</p>

<p>I just returned from a scholarship interview at Truman State and I had the opportunity to tour the campus. Here are my thoughts:</p>

<p>Truman definitely has a small town feel to it. Our tour guide waved at nearly 10 people she knew, and there was a really friendly vibe in the Hub (a student meeting place inside the student Union) and inside all of the eateries on campus. The campus is picturesque (when one is not trudging through Missouri snow) and is somewhat compact. They academic facilities are really nice, especially if you are a science student (the labs we looked at were outfitted with everything one would ever desire.)</p>

<p>I'm a future nursing student so I had the opportunity to tour the Violette Hall, where the nursing department is currently located. The SIM lab for nursing students is well outfitted, and the classrooms were somewhat old but still nice. They department is small, so I got a really friendly vibe from everyone I met there. </p>

<p>Overall I think Truman has a cool campus despite its location in the middle of nowhere. The Student Activities Board had a list of entertainers coming to Truman, and it was one of the most impressive activities lists I've seen (Daniel Tosh is coming this month, and Jim Gaffigan came a little while ago. And there are tons of bands that have come to Truman as well.) Kirksville is small but cute. There is a movie theater (and they were showing current stuff) and the Chinese place that I ate at was really good and very affordable. Other offerings include pizza places and a variety of fast food places (including Taco Bell, fyi.)</p>

<p>I definitely liked the campus and I hope I get the scholarship! If so, you'll probably see me at Truman in 2010!</p>

<p>^ Oops. Nursing is in Barnett Hall, NOT Violette Hall.</p>