UA vs UAH

<p>Hello,</p>

<p>I am an international student planning to apply to both UA and UA Huntsville. I would apply as either a chemical engineering major or physics. I hear that UAH has a strong science/engineering program due to its connectons with NASA, etc, but I see that it is significantly ranked lower than UA in general. Also, UA’s engineering school is ranked higher than that of UAH. (UA- ranked 88, UAH- ranked 181)</p>

<p>My SAT score is 1490 (M+CR) and my UW GPA is 3.76, Weighted: 4.21. I am elligible for UA’s full tuition scholarship (would have to pay 7000ish dollars for room, board meal plan ,etc). I am also elligible for UAH’s full tuition + room scholarship. I would pay less than 2000 dollars. </p>

<p>My question is, is it worth choosing UAH over UA?</p>

<p>I know that rankings are not accurate in measuring the quality of schools. However, the vast difference in rankings between the two schools is a bit concerning. Due to my family’s financial situation, we would barely be able to afford UA, while we wouldn’t have much problem affording UAH. </p>

<p>Thanks.</p>

<hr>

<p>"(UA- ranked 88, UAH- ranked 181)"</p>

<p>Not the engineering school, but in general according to US news. Just wanted to clarify</p>

<p>If you didn’t have to take into account cost, UA would likely be the better choice, based on Chemical Engineering being something of a strength at UA, while Mechanical/Aerospace is UAH’s strongest engineering major. </p>

<p>However, since cost is a major factor, I’m sure you’ll find UAH is a solid choice for engineering (as well as the physics program). In fact, UAH’s engineering grad school is ranked slightly higher than UA’s. Nothing wrong with choosing an engineering program based on what your family can afford. </p>

<p>Do you have to decide now? Can you apply to both and later make a decision?</p>