UC Berkeley vs. UCSD Jacobs Full Ride (Comp. Sci)

I have narrowed down my college choice between two schools: UC Berkeley (no regents or financial aid) versus the Jacobs Engineering Scholarship at UCSD. I am an in-state student majoring in Computer Science at both schools.

At UCSD, I received a full ride: The Jacobs Engineering Scholarship is awarded to the top 0.3% of the incoming freshmen engineering class at UCSD (about 50 students). Jacobs Scholars receive the Regent’s Scholarship and all the perks associated with it (priority registration for classes, automatic research in the first quarter, and graduate level borrowing privileges at all UCSD libraries). The scholarship is a full ride that covers tuition, housing, and all other miscellaneous fees. Jacobs Scholars can switch among all engineering majors at will (immune from the impaction rule). Jacobs Scholars must remain in engineering and maintain a 3.5 GPA. Jacobs Scholars are often given preference for research in labs, and the network of Jacobs Scholars provides opportunities for scholars to help each other with internships and job opportunities.

At Berkeley, the CS program is the best in the world. I got into the College of L&S and intend to declare CS. I am aware that Cal carries a prestige that UCSD does not have (yet). However, do the benefits of being a Jacobs Scholar at UCSD outweigh the prestige of Cal? I will be visiting both campuses. Additionally, my family can afford paying for Cal - but is it really worth it? I have heard that CS is not a field in which the prestige of the school carries too much weight - is this true?

Thanks in advance!

I would favor the full-ride to UCSD (which is not exactly a crap school for CS; it’s still one of the best in the country).

The main point of concern I have is the 3.5 GPA requirement, which is high.