UC Davis vs UC Irvine Living Costs

Hello. I am a high school senior and I am currently deciding between Davis and Irvine. I was just wondering about the difference in living costs for these schools. I do plan to move out as a sophomore so I was just wondering which school has cheaper housing off campus. Also in general I heard Davis students commute by bikes and there is free bus transportation so transportation would be close to no cost. On the other hand, I know nothing about transportation in Irvine in general and if the area is expensive to live in and other stuff.

Here is a link to off campus housing and prices for UCI: https://offcampus.housing.uci.edu
Much easier to get around with a car if you attend UCI but I have no personal experience. Also consider parking fees.

UCD has a great bus transit system and of course the bikes. My son did not bring up his car until Junior year and even then, it was easier taking a bus or the bike to school.

Off campus housing for UCD: https://www.forrentuniversity.com/University-of-California-Davis?cmp=G-FRUUCDavisDSA&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI9_P6oM2v2gIVhfhkCh0EKAoqEAAYBCAAEgJ-MPD_BwE

Son was able to share a 4 bedroom townhouse for $350.00/month at UCD.

For both UCI and UCD, costs will depend upon how many people in an apartment, but UCI will definitely be more expensive than UCD.

@Gumbymom Oooo ok thank you! Um I personally do not have a car and probably will be unable to afford one until after college, so considering that I will be without a car for 4 years, would Davis be a better fit in that aspect?

Davis would be a better fit in terms of transportation but have you visited? Small town vibe, very agricultural area but friendly and cooperative student community. Not the best fit for all students especially the location.

Davis is a very easy place to be a non-car owner.