Uc residency help

Hi! So I am a California resident (I’ve been living here for the past 3 years) and I just got into a UC for the fall semester. I submitted my statement of legal residence as a transfer but I guess i messed up by saying my mother who does not live in California would also be supporting me so I was classified as a non-resident. I want to submit my appeal since I was previously living under my uncle as a guardian for the three years and also filed my own taxes and make my own income. I wanted to ask if it was possible to appeal and be reclassified as a resident. Thank you

1. So you are not getting any support from your Mother?
  2. You are living independently with no support from your uncle?
  3. Are you 24 years of age?
  4. Can you prove you are living independently?

https://www.ucop.edu/residency/appeals.html

Not an expert on this topic but, generally, if you moved to CA as a CC student and have been continuously enrolled - you are OOS of tuition purposes.

Good luck with your appeal though - and post what your results so we can all learn how this shakes out.

Hi! Thanks for replying guys! So I was living under my uncle as a legal guardian for the 2 years I spent at community college. I recently moved closer to campus with a friend because of early classes and not being able to commute for a long while. I misinterpreted the residency question and just thought they were asking about my parents, not my guardian in California, which is where I messed up.

At this moment, I have been financially independent from my uncle since I moved out of his house.

Just for reference, I am 19 and I’m not sure if I actually am independent or not because my mum usually sends me money when I need help but apart from that, I fully do everything on my own.

I’m not sure if any of this makes sense but any help is appreciated!!