UCD vs. UCSB

<p>I’m struggling with which one to choose…there are some pros and cons which I’m already aware of. I know Davis is ranked higher and has a good reputation for science, and it’s about two hours from where I live. I’m also drawn to Santa Barbara though, because from what I understand there’s not a huge difference in academics and I’ve heard the social life is much better. I’m not a huge party person, but I also don’t want a school where everyone goes home on the weekends (as I’ve heard is true at Davis). Does anyone know if there is a significant difference in the number of students that go home/off campus on weekends at UCD versus UCSB? I’m also interested in either English or statistics as my major, which I realize are at completely opposite ends of the spectrum, so I’m wondering: which school covers both of those areas better?</p>

<p>I’m currently a student at UCD.
I don’t think you should care too much about the rankings of the two schools. They’re both great schools. And I think according to USNEWS, they are both ranked the same.
As for UCD’s students going home on weekends… some do… many don’t. I personally go home on many weekends because I have stuff to do at home, but whenever I stay, most of my friends are there also. There are more people who stay than who leave.</p>

<p>Here are some Cons of Davis:
I’m from the Bay Area, so I’m not use to having seasons. Summers get as hot as 110, winter gets as cold as 30. (This past year at least) right now… the weather is AMAZING. The weather is usually pretty good except for at the extremes during those few months (you’ll be gone for 3 weeks in the winter, and possibly not even there in the summer… so… yeah.)</p>

<p>The tercero area smells like cow. Other than that, the rest of campus is fine.</p>