UCLA vs UCSB vs UCD in Physics

<p>Hi,
I’m an international student and I would appreciate if you can help me to choose one of these UC’s.I really really wanted Cal but unfortunately I didn’t get in.Btw,if you can share your thoughts and experiences about these schools both in academics and student life it would be great.
I don’t want to choose a school only by looking at a ranking list,I want to choose the best fit.Dorms,food and student profile is very important for me.I don’t think I can visit them since I’m on the other side of the world :slight_smile:
Another thing is research opportunities.Since I want to major in physics I need a school I can both participate in research projects and be able to get in to a top grad school.
I’m really nervous about choosing a school please help me!! :)</p>

<p>First, drop Davis from the list. It is not as strong in physics as SB or UCLA.</p>

<p>If you are sure about physics as a major, you should take a close look at this program at UCSB, which allows undergrads to begin taking graduate level courses in physics through the College of Creative Studies. And SB has a very good, top 10 in the country, graduate program in physics.</p>

<p>See College</a> of Creative Studies, UC Santa Barbara and then College</a> of Creative Studies, UC Santa Barbara - Physics - Home</p>

<p>If studying physics is your top priority, I think CCS is the way to go. Santa Barbara is a lovely, but smallish city, right on the ocean. UCSB has a "party hard" reputation but if you can resist that temptation, the physics program is stellar. (I think there are four Nobel laureates on the faculty.) The campus is one of the smaller UCs, about 18,000 students, so it's very manageable and easy to live there. Student body is described as very easy-going and laid-back. </p>