UCLA vs. UCSD for pre-pharm

I got accepted for Biology at UCLA and Human Biology at UCSD and right now I’m planning on going down the pre-pharm track. UCLA has been my dream school for years now, but UCSD unexpectedly offered me a $20k ($5k/yr) Chancellor’s Scholarship with priority enrollment and other perks. Now, I’m currently torn on which school to attend.

Both schools have amazing bio programs from what I’ve gathered, and both similarly have intense competition. I’ve heard horror stories of the bio department at UCLA, from curves to insane competition from pre-med students. I’m an average student at best but I don’t want to have to sacrifice my social life to study 50 hours a week in order to keep up with the pre-med kids. So, how is the competition really at these schools? How hard is it to maintain a > 3.4 GPA if I study consistently around 3-4 hours per day and take initiatives? Is there any specific course that I should be wary of? I’ve also heard that it’s hard to get the classes you want at UCLA. This is where the priority enrollment perk at UCSD sounds appealing. But I have no clue if it’s actually true or not.

In terms of the school, I love Los Angeles and UCLA’s campus infinitely more than UCSD. I’ve heard far too many people say that UCSD is socially dead since everyone there is always so invested in studying and there’s no D1 sports which contributes to a lack of school spirit. But from someone who is familiar with these two schools, how is the social environment in both UCLA and UCSD? Is UCSD really socially dead or is it just another stereotype?