UIUC vs UW decision

<p>Hi, I've been stuck with an extremely difficult decision for a while. I am currently attending a local college near where I'm living (Dixon, Illinois). I'm in a college transfer program that involves getting my general electives completed to earn my Associate's degree and then transfer to a four year college to focus my major and Bachelor's degree. In addition to my general electives and some major classes, I need to complete classes that are required by the college I plan to transfer to.</p>

<p>My major is Business/Accounting. </p>

<p>I want to attend the University of Madison, Wisconsin simply because I'm fond of the area. I was a natural born Wisconsin resident that has been living in Illinois from the age of 4 to now (21 years old). Most of my relatives reside in Madison and I've been visiting Madison and the Union/Campus my whole life (my dad attended the UW). I also want to live and work in Madison. The only issue is that it costs $34,000 a year to attend the UW. Another option would be attending Edgewood college which has a much lower cost to attend although it is private and only has a student body around 2,000. I could also live in the area for a year to become a Wisconsin resident again then attend the University.</p>

<p>The other option is attending the University of Urbana Champaign, Illinois. This university is ranked #2 in the nation for Accounting and has a very good business front. I also hear that many big four recruiters come in to recruit. The campus is very large, very scenic, and holds the largest University library in the world, but lacks the lakes that the UW has (both colleges are very scenic). The cost to attend the college would be cheaper than attending a college in Wisconsin as well. The biggest problem is after graduating because I don't know if I want to continue working/living in Illinois. </p>