Universities with First Year Engineering Programs

My S22 is attempting to finalize his college list. His issue is that he is undecided on what he wants to study, except that he knows he wants to be in engineering. He is interested in mechanical, industrial, and computer science. He is completely uninterested in aerospace (who doesn’t want to build rockets?..my son), materials, chemical, or bio. Anything else he has no knowledge of. Admittedly, I am a lawyer and his mom is a pediatrician, so it is not like he gets much exposure to engineering.

We have read that several universities have first-year engineering programs where you are admitted to your major after your freshman year. He is interested in this type of program so that he will have more exposure to engineering to make a choice. His top choice right now is Texas A&M (he is aware of the issues related to ETAM at A&M and GPA in the first year). What other schools should we look at that have similar programs? We have identified: Purdue, Pitt, Ohio State, and Alabama. Other schools he is considering are: Iowa State, Arizona State, and Auburn.

He is in a full IB student with a 4.3 weighted and 3.95 unweighted GPA (HLs in Physics, Math, English, and Business and SLs in Design Technology and Spanish). He is co-president of the high school robotics team and has the standard ECs you would see. ACT = 35. PSAT selection index is 215 (so definitely commended, and possibly NMF).

For budgetary purposes, we are trying to cap our total cost of attendance at $45K/year (or less, preferably less). Since someone will ask, we are in-state at Tennessee…no we are not interested in UT-K.

Thank you in advance for any assistance.

1 Like

The very first pinned thread discusses programs like that.

2 Likes

Then, I am an idiot. I searched the site for such a thread, but did not “look” for it. Thanks.

3 Likes