University of Minnesota Freshman Courseload

Hi, I am an incoming freshman at the University of Minnesota majoring in Data Science. I have some questions about my course load for my first semester. Here is what I have for my schedule so far:

CSCI 1133
CSCL 1101W
CSE 1001
MATH 1371
PHYS 1301

This adds up to 16 credits. I am still not sure if I want to take CSCI 1133 this semester or if I should take a second Lib ed or University Writing instead. Does anybody have any insight into the coursework for CSCI 1133 and CSCL 1101W? Thanks.

You need to spread some of those courses out, Math 1371, Physics 1301, CSE 1001, will be plenty challenging.
Adding csci, which is time consuming, is very risky. Typically it’s taken during 2nd semester, I think, unless you have extensive cs experience already and you already took calculus.
Having a writing course will provide you with different types or assignements. A social science course that meets the “science, technology, society” requirement would likely be lighter but having just Physics and math (2 weedout courses)+1 writing course for 4 credits would likely make a better schedule.

Yes, agreed with comment above. How about a writing course or a freshman seminar or something that satisfies the social justice requirement.

So would this make more sense than before:

CSE 1001 (1 Credit)
MATH 1371 (4 Credits)
PHYS 1301 (4 Credits)
CSCL 1101W (3 Credits)
WRIT 1301 (4 Credits)

My advisor suggested that I take two extra classes along with CSE FYE, MATH 1371, and PHYS 1301. These would add up to 16 credits, I don’t really know much about CSE FYE so is that a class I should really count in my credits?

I already have the social justice requirement, but there are other lib ed requirements I can fill.

Or possibly a historical perspectives class instead of CSCL 1101W?