What are the strongest departments at UA?

<p>Hi I am a newbie on CC. My daughter has been accepted by UA and got the Presidential scholarship. </p>

<p>When she applied she had a hard time deciding on a major because she has several interests and eventually put down Microbiology. Now already she is not sure if that’s what she really wants to study in college. There are 2 main reasons: 1. she is quite clear that she does not want to pursue a graduate degree in science beyond her undergraduate years; 2. she has read that now it is really hard to get a decent job with a BS degree in basic science.</p>

<p>She does not think she can do engineering (no visual-spatial ability, according to her).</p>

<p>So that basically eliminates the STEM fields.</p>

<p>She is smart and hard working and has high stats (ACT 35, SAT 2300+, 3.95 unweighted GPA, lots of APs, NMSF) but does not seem to know what she wants to major in at college. </p>

<p>UA started out as our safety school and we did not know much about the school. But the more we look into it, the more we are liking this school. </p>

<p>Which departments are considered to be strong at UA?</p>

<p>There really are a number of strong outside of STEM, I don’t know where to start. The Classics, Poly Sci, History, Public Relations, MIS, the B school, Accounting, Stats, Music, Education, Spanish, Musical theater, English, Nursing (which may be STEM), Communications, and many more.</p>

<p>What does your D like? Is she the type who’d like The Classics? Is she outgoing and would like PR? Would she want to become a college prof?</p>

<p>She has been doing a lot of debate in high school so she definitely is interested in Poly Sci, political philosophy, perhaps econ. Also very social. Not sure about eventually working as an academic, but is quite interested in law school.</p>