What Should I Do? (International Transfer Dilemma)

<p>Hi. I'm a Korean student studying in the Philippines. My school is not important. Btw, you can call me David. :)</p>

<p>I just finished my first year in a college, and I want to transfer to a college in the US. As you know, most internationals are eligible for fall 2013, so I'll have to wait until September to work on my applications. Here is my dilemma.</p>

<p>I do not have ANY SAT I and subject test scores, or TOEFL score. I plan to take all of them this year (this is understandable btw, since at my age I would be a 12th year student in the States). The thing is, my second year starts in June, and as far as I know, most schools require just one year of education in another institution for transfer, meaning taking second year in my college would probably be a waste of money and time, when I have to prepare for many tests and essays.</p>

<p>Mind you, I have the grades I want and professors to ask recommendations from. The reason why I didn't prepare for transfer last year was, well frankly, I got interested in this whole transfer thing just a few months ago. Still, I'm young and I find myself pretty capable for at least the top 25% schools in US, so I'm pretty confident about this idea of stopping my current school.</p>

<p>But still, I'm not really sure about some aspects. First, would I have more chances if I finished two years instead of one? Please note that most schools will not acknowledge the courses I took in the Philippines, so credit acquirement is pretty meaningless. Second, would I be a less credible transfer applicant if I took a year off? This is in terms of the credibility of my recommendation letters and my own academic ability. But also note that my SAT test dates will be pretty recent ones, so I won't be completely outdated.</p>