When your kid has no idea what they are interested in

My DS (2024) really has no idea what he wants to do yet. Def not anything science related. Maybe Sports Management, maybe Sports Media, maybe Hospitality Management, etc ., etc. Hard to know what to focus on when he really doesn’t have an idea. Anyone else in this situation? He is my oldest so this is our first rodeo. I am a nurse and husband MD so we both knew exactly what we wanted to do so planned and applied accordingly…

1 Like

People find out what they’re interested in doing, by doing things! In addition to taking classes taught by the best teachers at his high school (my son’s interest in Psychiatry was boosted by his excellent teachers for AP Bio and AP Psych), he would benefit from working a job after school, and during the summers. Maybe he could get a job at a nearby hotel’s front desk? Sports writing for the local news website? Sports media stringer reporter for the local news station? Start a youtube channel for local high school sports event reporting? The reality is that the job market for high school kids is fantastic right now, because everyone is desperate for workers. The point is, he will find direction by trying things out. Your encouragement will help give him the confidence to do it.

1 Like

It’s not unusual for a HS sophomore not to know what they want to do or what their real areas of interest are. Even HS seniors can be uncertain. Many students who enter college with one major in mind end up changing course. My advice would be for your child to explore lots of things to see what he is interested in - it’s ok to be a sampler. Not every kid has everything mapped out at age 15 and that’s OK.

9 Likes

I created a post for not so typical majors. My kid is in a similar situation.