Where to go with a 2.6 GPA?

<p>I am helping my friend's son in an effort to improve the chances of getting into college. I have a lot of experience in this but all with kids with super stats heading to highly selective schools. This one is different and I need advice. Here is his profile:</p>

<p>California public school
Hispanic
Rising Junior
Single Parent since 2 years old
Low income (50K gross so low EFC)
Rich uncle who will pay any amount needed</p>

<p>GPA - 2.6 out of 4.0 unweighted
Got a D+ in english freshmen 1st semester.
Only one A (in english Soph year - go figure)
No AP's attempted
Language for fresh and soph was American Sign Language</p>

<p>SAT - 1750</p>

<p>Plays varsity lacrosse - good but not great</p>

<p>Good kid, unmotivated until this summer. Now he wants college.</p>

<p>Based on the increase in motivation I think he will improve but not greatly. He might get his 3 year average up to 2.9-ish.</p>

<p>What schools would say are safeties and which might be considered likely? He wants to go out of California if possible.</p>

<p>All help appreciated!</p>

<p>Best Regards,
Wheaty</p>

<p>He could consider Drexel (in Philly) or Syracuse maybe? They’re private and kind of expensive though…</p>

<p>Auburn
UT-Dallas
Wooster
Howard</p>

<p>Big/small, rural/suburban/urban, social scene (eg. alternative, lots of frats), academic interest(s), region of the country?</p>

<p>Hey terrific answers so far.</p>

<p>Okay his preferences would be: social, sports teams, big school might be better for him, he prefers to be “as far away from home as possible”. (Just about broke my heart to hear a kid say that in the tone it was said).</p>

<p>Not needed but big bonus would be a college with a lacrosse team.</p>

<p>Rich uncle will pay any price so privates and full-price OOS are okay.</p>

<p>I really appreciate the help on this. </p>

<p>Best Regards,
Wheaty</p>