Which UC Campus for Semester Abroad?

Hi, I’m an international student hopefully making it through the preliminary selection at my home university to attend UC. If I want to apply, I need to fill out three campus preferences, however, being international I cannot visit prior to sending in the application. I’ve read the campus atmospheres are really different so I was hoping someone could help :slight_smile:

My current number one (based purely on rankings/academics and location) is Berkeley, followed by UCLA and UCSD. I recently met someone attending UCSB and they really loved that so I’m kind of keeping that one in mind too.

The UC system seems really great to study, however, some things that worry me are the cutthroat environment and curved grading I read about. I’m an all right student (3.0 GPA alongside five committees, one board function and a pretty active (student association) social life the past 2.5 years) and willing to work hard but reading about sabotaging peers was just mind-boggling and I’m not sure I want to be in that kind of environment. Another thing that worries me is housing and getting into the classes I want since I’ve heard local students are prioritized over exchange students.