Worth the cost of out of state tutiton?

<p>I'm a Northern California resident who hasn't had much luck with the UC and CSU system. I got waitlisted at Davis, but so far that's been the only semi-good news from in-state universities. So, it looks like I'm going to have to either pay OOS tuition or go to community college. Assuming that I don't choose community college, I've narrowed my choices to two so far: the UDUB and UW- Madison. I want to get a degree in bioengineering/biomedical engineering, and I'm wondering if anyone has any advice. Finances are a factor, and I've figured out that I'd probably get residency at the UDUB after a year (by taking fewer credits and getting a job to raise money for school). This would actually make the UDUB cheaper than UW-Madison and the UC's even. I still haven't figured out a feasable way for me to gain Wisconsin residency so that would be more expensive for sure. </p>

<p>But, is the extra cost worth it in the long run? Is UW- Madison's college experience and engineering program worth the out of state debt? I really like this school, so can anyone justify the extra cost? Is there anyone who came from California, or OOS in general, who would like to share their experience? </p>

<p>Thanks to anyone who took the time to read through this post :)</p>

<p>I can tell you as a parent how I would look at it.</p>

<p>I would look at what schools you are admitted to, their engineering programs, and how they stack up, and whether you plan on doing grad school. Wisc has a fine engineering program. If you plan on getting a job immediately after grad school, Wisc OOS tuition is definitely worth it. If you plan on doing grad school, maybe a closer call.</p>