How to not feel disappointed about the college I’m going to?

i’ve been a good student in high school. took 8 ap classes, had good grades, worked very hard for a good SAT score, etc. i was in the “gifted” program in elementary school, and since then my parents have always said stuff like “you’re going places” and “i wonder where you’ll end up.” now, as a senior, i got a little too cocky and ended up getting rejected from 9 out of 13 schools. i applied to good schools all over the country, but now i’ll just end up going to a midwest state school that so many people at my school go to. i’ve disappointed myself and i feel like i didn’t live up to my parents’ expectations— i think we both saw myself doing something awesome across the country, going my own path and having an amazing time doing it. but now i feel like i’m barely leaving this place, not to mention going to a school that pretty much anyone can get into. i just feel like a failure, and i wish i could do-over my whole application process.

1 Like

The good work you did in high school will help you do better in college.

15 Likes

It’s ok to feel disappointed that something didn’t go the way you hoped it would. In time, it will pass and hopefully you’ll get excited about the opportunity you have in front of you. Because it is an opportunity.

Think about all of the ways you can take advantage of being at your state school. You’ll save money traveling, and probably on tuition. Maybe that will leave resources to study abroad for a year or do some work experience travel during the summer. Your new friends are there, too! People you never would have met otherwise. The people from your school will fade quickly away as you get to know your roommate, floor mates, club members.