A filipino student having a hard time with english composition

I am a freshman. I am from the Philippines so it’s very hard to cope with a new environment here in america. Especially in writing essays. I have a hard time with my class, English 102 which is a composition class. I should have took the first one but when I took my placement test, that’s where I was placed. I am not used to writing essays back then when i was in the PH. I keep having all these corrections even when I revised them. I am trying my best, really. But it’s just not that enough. I am not that fluent in English. There is a free tutoring in my school but I want to start from the basics like what is an essay, what are the parts, how to construct a perfect essay, etc. It will take me a long time to learn. For me tutoring is not enough. I didn’t even turn in my paper because I really don’t understand the material that our instructor assigned us. It’s too advanced for me. So is it okay to withdraw from this class? In the meantime I will search some free online courses to improve my writing so in the next semester, I will be prepared to take this class. Am I doing the right decision? :frowning:

Placement tests aren’t perfect. If you feel overwhelmed in your current class, and there’s an easier one (English 101?) you could take next semester, that may be a good option.

Please talk to an adviser before you actually withdraw from your current class. There’s a few additional considerations.

• Would you still be in full-time status after you withdraw from this class? That’s a requirement for your student visa.
  • Does withdrawing from this class impact your financial aid or scholarship eligibility?
  • Is this class a prerequisite for other classes you may want/need to take next semester?