American student applying to LSE and other UK universities

I am an American high school student planning on applying to LSE and other schools in the U.K. I have done a fair bit of research into the U.K. admissions system and am already familiar after living in Europe for ten years. Still, I have not been able to find a good answer as to the importance of the high school GPA, especially concerning LSE. I know that U.K. universities put a ton of emphasis on your A.P. exams as they are the A-level or I.B. equivalent. This I am not so worried about. I scored a 5 in AP US history last year, and I am doing A.P. Bio, Stats, Lit, world, and euro this year (world and euro are self-studies my school doesn’t offer many A.P.s). I don’t have any predicted grades for these classes, nor will I predict them myself, so just know that I am practicing hard for the scores I need. Anyway, LSE’s U.S. undergrad requirements state that a 3.7 GPA is necessary. I am worried I will be rejected due to my lower GPA. I did not do excellent my freshman year (mostly B’s, nothing lower than a B-), which was right after I moved from Europe and was struggling to adjust to a new school system. Eventually, however, I got into the grove and moved to a better school. Ever since, my grades have been stellar (sorry, I don’t mean to bore you with my life story, just trying to give relevant context :slight_smile:). Unfortunately, my school doesn’t calculate GPA, so my calculations are between 3.5-3.6, which is annoying because it’s only .2-.1 less than the requirements. Anyway, if any person or student could grant some insight, that would be extremely helpful as I’ve seen a lot of forms/sources saying GPA plays no role, yet I am very concerned by this requirement.

Also, I thought I would mention I am applying for the History B.A. course at LSE. I am also aware (especially with LSE) of how vital the P.S. is in the application process.

1 Like