An Open Letter to those Interested in CBH / RRS

Dear Reader,

Please apply, even if you do not think you have the stats for it. You may surprise yourself.

I am a freshman at The University of Alabama in the Computer-Based Honors Program (soon to be renamed the Randall Research Scholars Program). I was initially placed in the reserve pool and did not think I was going to be accepted in to the program. I was interviewed at my Bama Bound orientation and promptly selected for the 50th cohort in June. My goal with this letter is to provide an inside look at my experience with this program in my first couple of months at UA. If you’re anything like me, then you will enjoy getting the “inside” scoop on what it’s really like to be a freshman in this program.

Let’s start off with the class itself—CBH 101. CBH 101 is a class offered at 12:00 or 1:00 PM MWF, and 6:00 PM on Monday. Half of your cohort (22 in this year’s case) is in one section, half in the other. The sections combine on Monday night where everyone attends a lecture. This is what the UA catalog has to say about the first class that students accepted in to CBH take:

“Taken by first-year students in the Computer-Based Honors Program, this course provides an accelerated introduction to computer hardware and software.”