Anyone here go to SMU?

Would love to hear about SMU- the campus vibe, classes, clubs- are you from OOS, and anything else you can share. It def checks most if not all the boxes for S24 and would love to hear more.

1 Like

I graduated from SMU a long time ago (Class of '98). I was in the second class of Hunt Scholars. SMU provided an excellent education for me that has led to many other things. I am happy to talk about my experiences, but they are, admittedly, dated.

1 Like

With about 1600 entering freshmen, there are quite a bit of diverse offerings. Roughly one quarter of men join fraternities. Business, the arts and core curriculum are key strengths. 60% of students come from out of state. Great campus. Two year residential requirement and can live on campus all four years.

I have a junior daughter and freshman son attending SMU.

https://www.smu.edu/Provost/University-Decision-Support/Statistics/CommonDataSets/2021

3 Likes

My son is currently attending SMU. As a freshman, he’s very happy. My kid is mostly academic and anti-frat, but he has made a ton of friends. He’s always doing some club event or playing in intramurals. Most importantly, he actually likes all his professors. In fact, he often meets them for coffee or just to chat. That is something you can’t get at a large campus. He also loves that the campus is very walkable, and the student body is very active on campus. He tends to study late at the library, but he says that students are always outside socializing late into the evening. He had other university options, but he’s pleased with his decision to attend SMU. Hope this helps.

6 Likes