Apple retina display macbook pro-freshman son wants one

<p>We are considering purchasing the MacBook Pro Bundle from the supestore, which is located in the Ferguson Center.
They offer 3 different packages ranging from $1,499 to $2,159. These bundles include the Apple protection plan, Microsoft Office 2011, all-in-one printer, etc…
One of our relatives has offered to sell his old MacBook to our son for a “great” price, we’re also thinking about this option.<br>
Our son, however, went with his friend to the Apple store. His friend purchased the Apple retina display Macbook pro for around $3,500, this is not a bundle this is just the Macbook pro.
I don’t get all the hype about the retna display, I don’t think a college student needs one, unless he plans to work in graphic design, and I think the price is outrageous for a college kid.
Does anyone have an opinion?</p>

<p>I would love to get the new Retina Display MBP, and I might do so this fall. But I am an amateur photographer and can perhaps rationalize the better screen for that reason as well as the additional memory and the flash drive. </p>

<p>Personally, I wouldn’t consider getting it for my child. It is very expensive and I don’t think the additional cost would be worthwhile for a student. And when I think about a computer bouncing around in a backpack all day, I’d want it to be what they need but not more than they need, cost-wise, weight-wise or size-wise. There is a lot that can go wrong for a computer at college. </p>

<p>But just regarding the retina display… yesterday we put an iPad 2 and an iPad 3 (retina display) side by side and looked at the same enlarged photos. You definitely could see the difference that the retina display makes. But is it worth it? Not for my kiddos, IMHO.</p>

<p>We did get my D a new MBP this week when the new ones came out. She went with a 13-inch and is very satisfied with the reduced size (she previously had a 15-inch).</p>