Automatic Merit Scholarships?

<p>I'm a high school senior in the process of applying to Wisconsin. I was wondering if Wisconsin offers any automatic academic scholarships based on test scores/GPA. For example Indiana University lets you know if you get a 31 and have a 3.8 GPA you qualify for $11,000 a year. Does University of Wisconsin have anything like this?</p>

<p>Also, I'm an out of state student with a 4.0 GPA and a 30 on the ACT. If Wisconsin does not have any "automatic" scholarships, would I still be eligible for any merit based financial aid?</p>

<p>From my understand UW is tight with the money for OOS. Better chances in the area would probably be Iowa State etc. They’re a top tiered engineering school. GATech offers more scholarships than them I think. I didn’t find any while I was researching.</p>

<p>Unless you are a minority there is relatively little merit aid. No automatic aid for OOS.</p>

<p>No automatic merit money. Incoming students typically don’t get any merit money. There are some scholarships given to current students, such as perhaps $1000 to the best freshman chemistry or math student if the department has the funds set up for that. That would be one student of literally hundreds, so even current top college students don’t count on any merit money. No financial rewards directly from UW for any test scores or gpa. There are some National Merit Scholarships but that is a competition, not automatic. No automatic merit money even for instate students.</p>

<p>Short answer, if merit $ is a factor in your college selection process…don’t put Wisc. high on your list. Virtually impossible. Its a fantastic school, but several other schools (Indiana, Maimi of Ohio, Iowa, etc.) will throw money at your qualifications. Wisc. will welcome you with a handshake and a song.</p>

<p>They will also offer excellent academics and a peer group of high achievers, especially in the Honors courses. UW doesn’t need to pay good students to come.</p>