Backing out of Virginia Tech Early Decision

Hello! I am a student who was recently accepted Early Decision into Virginia Tech as an architecture major, but off late I have been having some doubts about my decision due to financial concerns and my twin brother’s pending college acceptance (along with my general tendency to overthink things). I am totally at fault here, I was completely aware of the conditions of applying ED before I did it, but at the time (a couple months ago) I really did want to attend Virginia Tech, and still really do. However, in retrospect I think it would have been better to apply Early Action, which I primarily didn’t do because I felt I would be yield protected as I have pretty good stats and am from Northern Virginia. Any who, my reason for this post was to mainly figure if there is any possibility that I could email Tech and inquire about the chance of my acceptance getting deferred to Early Action, meaning I would still have my spot, but it would be like I got accepted EA and not be bound to attend as opposed to ED. Is this crazy? Is this something that colleges do/ have done in the past? Furthermore, if this is not possible, would it be viable to withdraw after paying my deposit?

TL;DR → Because I have been having second thoughts, is there any chance that my ED acceptance be deferred to EA. Or, is there room to back out once I have paid my deposit and enrolled?

Any insight is greatly appreciated, but please no hate! I am totally aware that it is not a great look to back out of ED and that this is a less than ideal situation completely inflicted my me :frowning:

1 Like

After acceptances, when you back out of ED you are typically walking away from that option. Go into any communication with the understanding that not having the option to go to VT is a possible outcome. You are asking to get out of a contractual agreement and you need to give a reason.

Prior to acceptances may have been okay to request a switch.