Best colleges for Computer Gaming major? [CT resident, 3.6 GPA, small environment, with merit based financial aid]

My grandson, a junior, has strong math, science, and computer skills, a 3.6 unweighted gpa, AP physics currently, AP computer science, honors calculus and challenges in writing though in honors level. Most interested in game development but needs some direction regarding a more expansive view. He would probably be best served in a small environment. Looking at WPI and RIT for reputation but probably in the Reach category.

Non-need based financial aid is important.

Advice and suggestions please.

U of Utah
Central Florida
Bradley - run NPC for merit
Kent State
Miami Ohio
Arizona - depending on budget. 3.6 gets 12.5k off.

2 Likes

Thank you. Despite my age, I am a newbie with the acronyms. What is NPC?

Look into RIT.

https://www.rit.edu/admissions/aid/merit-based-scholarships

Edited to add that I somehow missed RIT in your original post!

1 Like

Net pruce calculator. Not all do but some like Bradley will tell you how much $. Just google the school name + net price calculator.

Many schools will be large but the programs may not be.

https://admissions.bradley.edu/ssl/estimator/?status=viewtab2

1 Like

If you are in CA, I strongly recommend UC Santa Cruz.

1 Like

In CT thus an east coast preference but not necessarily a requiremnet

1 Like

Anyone have insider info on SUNY Polytechnic?

Champlain College would be a likely. Beautiful college town (Burlington, Vt) and offers good academic support if he needs it for writing. Small supportive environment with multiple majors within gaming/computer science and career guidance. Seems to have everything you are looking for and easy to get to from CT.

6 Likes

Utah may be best value - a leader and possible merit and residency.

But you can look at Marist and George Mason too staying East.

1 Like