Binghamton SOM vs. Rutgers Honors College

I am an NY resident and I am trying to make my final decision on enrollment - Binghamton or Rutgers. I got into the Rutgers honors college and received a 19 grand a year scholarship. Then there’s Binghamton, which I prefer in terms of campus and atmosphere, but I didn’t get directly into the School of Management. I did, however, get the direct transfer option, which is contingent on me getting at least a 3.5 my freshman year.

I’m confident that I can get the 3.5, given all of the resources available on campus, but is it worth the risk going to Binghamton? I feel that if, for whatever reason, I don’t get the 3.5, I can just transfer to another SUNY school and still keep all of my credits. I would qualify as a sophomore if I went to Binghamton, but not if I went to Rutgers.

It’s a very special opportunity at the Honors College @ Rutgers - New Brunswick campus ? or Newark campus? Which campus? 19K off instate tuition is amazing. Did Binghamton give you any money or would you be paying full OOS tuition?

Or, sorry - I see you are NY resident, that’s why you received a generous amount as an OOS resident of NJ. Now I understand. It’s extremely difficult for NJ residents to get money off from Rutgers. Now it makes sense as you are a NY resident. Do whatever makes most financial sense.

Instead of listing scholarship amount, can you list net costs at each ? Don’t subtract any loan.
Frankly, Rutgers Honors is MUCH better than Binghamton ‘regular’, especially since you didn’t get your major at Bing and 3.5 is a huge hurdle (doesn’t mean the same as in high school, it’s quite difficult to achieve in college, especially as a freshman.) you got into a very prestigious honors college at an excellent flagship university and you’re guaranteed your major. Rutgers wins hands down. However if Rutgers is not affordable for your parents -if it’d mean a loan on their part - then look at Binghamton .