Block Plan Essay: classic!

<p>Ah, the infamous block plan essay. I'm really psyched about what I have so far, but quick question: is time-travel an option?</p>

<p>I'm...not even kidding.</p>

<p>Hi Shifty,</p>

<p>I'm no expert, so take this with a grain of salt:</p>

<p>From my reading of the question, the point of this essay is mostly to show the adcom that you really do understand what the block plan is about. If you read their samples, they are basically promos for classes that make them sound like a lot of fun and show some understanding of the BP. My son did a very serious, week-by-week outline for his course with some detail about in-class learning and more detail about the fieldwork. I don't know what got him in, but I'm sure they knew he well understood the BP.</p>

<p>Are you planning time travel fieldwork, or are you actually just planning a discussion? There is so much cool science fiction on the topic and even some science saying that it is might be possible in an extremely limited kind of way. Are you doing this seriously, or are you using it to show your sense of humor? I have no idea if this is a good topic for you to use......but I would sure like to take the class!</p>

<p>Hope you get in!</p>

<p>BTW</p>

<p>Have you read "Time Travel in Einstein's Universe" by J. Richard Gott? It's a serious consideration of the subject.</p>

<p>Thanks CanadianMom.</p>

<p>Sorry for the poor wording, but what I meant was, would it be ridiculous if I included time travel as part of the plan for the adventure itself? The whole thing I wrote, after all, is quite idealistic in general.</p>

<p>Although I will really have to add that book to my list. It sounds quite interesting.</p>

<p>Anyways, I appreciate the advice. That sounds like much of the approach I was going for so far, so I'm glad to know I really am on the right track!</p>