Can CLEP benefit college application? How many CLEP should a homeschool student take?

Hi I’m a homeschool student and I plan to take some CLEP exams. I heard that standardized test scores are important to homeschool students, so I planned to take the AP exams this year…Unfortunately, my area cancelled all the AP exams because of the serious COVID pandemic. So I will consider taking the CLEP exams instead of AP. But I want to know if I plan to apply to Top 20, such as MIT, Stanford, and Cornell, etc., as a homeschooler without AP, can I use CLEP exams to demonstrate my academic ability and validate my homeschool record? Can CLEP test scores benefit my college application to top schools since I’m not going to take them for credits? How many CLEP should I take? Should I take the CLEP exams according to the quantity standard of AP exams? I’m planning to take 6 CLEPs: College Algebra, Calculus, Biology, Chemistry, Principles of Macroeconomics, Principles of Microeconomics. Are these enough and is the choice of these subjects suitable if I intend to major in CS or Economics? Is 6 CLEP exams enough? And how should I submit my CLEP test scores in college application? Should I just include it in my homeschool transcript?

College algebra is rather redundant if you do well on the calculus one (or have taken an actual calculus course at a college, in which case there is no point to taking any math CLEPs).

If you do want to use CLEP scores to validate home school learning, you may want to consider selecting them to cover advanced (for high school) level material in the usual high school subject areas (other than those you have taken actual college or high school courses in). The subject areas not in your current list include English (composition and/or literature), history, and foreign language.

I hadn’t heard of AP exams having been cancelled anywhere this year, or even last year. They were done online in 2020, but I think they were administered everywhere in 2021 and 2022.