CC: actual student perspective needed

<p>hey im an international student going into premed. so yar I got a pres. scholarship to CC. Was always a top choice but now given that it'll cost considerably less I have a few questions (any input from alumni/current students of CC would be appreciated) :</p>

<ol>
<li><p>Would I be an idiot not to take a presidential scholarship from CC?</p></li>
<li><p>I know academics are top notch, but how is the social scene like at CC? how are the peps there? do they work hard and/or play hard? intellectually stimulating yet can throw a good party every now and then?</p></li>
</ol>

<p>how about the springs? heard some less than favourable stories about the area</p>

<p>also, is CC a wise choice for premed? how does the block plan help/hinder one when taking science courses?</p>

<p>thnx</p>

<p>I rarely see actual students posting here. Apparently they are either working too hard, having too much fun, or couldn’t care less about proselytizing for CC. Maybe all three. So please accept a few comments from a parent for now.</p>

<p>First, you’re not necessarily an idiot for not taking the presidential scholarship. How much is it for? My S got one of those. It helped, but it did not make CC much cheaper than other schools that accepted him.</p>

<p>As for the social scene, from what little my kid shares with us I’d say it’s a work hard, play hard kinda place. He and his friends like road trips all around Colorado & neighboring states, and winter sports at some of the major ski areas. He has mentioned theme parties (where partiers apparently dress up for the occasion in ironic costume – ask about this, maybe it was a one-off thing.) Atmosphere is both athletic/sporty and intellectual. He says the hockey games are really exciting. They draw crowds not only from CC but from the surrounding community too.</p>

<p>Now about premed.
Do you know about CC’s unusual human cadaver dissection lab?<br>