Chance me for Creative Writing

I’m a high school student and unsure about what colleges I could realistically get into.

I help lead a student-run nonprofit, am a student athletic trainer, am involved in several school clubs, was editor-in-chief of my high school newspaper, attended a precollege creative writing program with Columbia University, babysit, work a job, and help lead small groups at my church.

I’ll have roughly 100 volunteer hours and a 4.5 weighted GPA by graduation. My ACT will be 30-34.

I want to study creative writing, and I’m looking at some Ivy Leagues and other selective schools. Yale is my top choice, followed by Columbia and Pepperdine. Is there any chance of me getting into those (financial aid and scholarships are definitely a need) or is that just way out of reach?

Columbia and Yale are both highly selective schools with very low acceptance rates. Certainly apply, but absolutely have some more Target and some sure things in your application list.

Pepperdine is likely a target school for you.

How much can your family contribute annually? You can run the net price calculators for colleges of interest to get some estimates. Right now, the NPCs are set for students starting college in 2023 fall…and that’s not you…so these would be estimates only.

How much can your parents pay annually for college?

What is your state of residence? Look at the public universities there too.

My free advice is…look at the characteristics of these colleges. And find others with similar qualities.

And until you have a real ACT or SAT score…you are just guessing.

What year in high school are you?

3 Likes

Hi - if this is your “real” first name, consider changing it to something generic.

Are you currently a Junior? What’s your unweighted GPA thus far - and do you know where you rank in your class? An ACT spread from 30 to 34 is too wide to consider.