Chance Me! VA Resident, Aspiring Engineer Who Loves Music [3.9UW 4.6W, 1510 SAT]

Hello! I am a high school senior in the midst of applying to college. I’m interested in what the forum will think of my chances at certain schools as the CC community seems to be more kind than that of sites like Reddit. I’m aiming to get a BS in mechanical or electrical engineering most likely followed by an MS in environmental engineering, with the goal of working in green energy or sustainable urban development. I also love singing and acting and most of my ECs are taken up by theatre or voice, besides my internships ; )

Demographics

• US Citizen, VA Resident
  • Mid-sized (1200 students at most) public school with concurrent enrollment at my county’s magnet STEM school. For admission purposes I am a student of the non-magnet school. Not sure of competitiveness as we’re in a region in NoVa known for competitiveness but my school’s admissions last year weren’t impressive (6 UVA, 1 Duke, and 1 CMU off the top of my head were the most selective admits)
  • White and male
  • My father got his PhD at Duke which I guess makes me a legacy there, however he hasn’t donated them anything. They probably have enough money as it is.

Intended Major(s)

• Mechanical or Electrical Engineering

• Other areas of interest: Environmental Science, Political Science, Economics

GPA, Rank, and Test Scores

• Unweighted HS GPA: 3.95
  • Weighted HS GPA: 4.6
  • Class Rank: Top 5%
  • SAT: 1510, 770 EBRW, 740 M

Coursework

• AP World History: A+/5
  • AP Calc BC: A-/5
  • AP English Language: A+/5
  • AP US History: A+/4
  • AP Spanish: A/3
  • AP Physics C Mechanics: A/3
  • Probably not going to submit AP scores because of those 3s.
  • As I am a senior, I am currently enrolled in AP English Literature, AP US & Comparative Government, AP Chemistry, AP Statistics, and a DE Multivariable Calculus course.
  • Everything else is honors, I’ve always gotten A’s.