Chances of getting into UC? PLEASE HELP

I am currently a sophomore in high school. I am fearful of receiving two B’s my first semester of the school year: in Accelerated Algebra 2 and Spanish 3-4.

I will be working towards getting all A’s next semester, but I am fearful that these two B’s will highly affect my chances.

Outside regular academics, I participate in Speech and Debate, and went to both State and Nationals my freshmen year, and placed top 20 at the State Championships. I am hoping to qualify again this year, along with the rest of my high school career. I am planning on running for Vice President when I am a junior and President when I am a senior. Speech and Debate is my main extra-curricular.

Although I am usually strong in academics, this semester has been a whirlwind. Do UC’s like seeing improvement in grades? What do you think my chances are of being admitted into a UC (so far)?

UC’s only use 10-11th grades for the a-g course requirements in their GPA calculation, so there is no way to gauge your chances with just having 1st semester 10th grades completed. 2 B’s is not a downward grade trend so just continue to work hard and strive for the best possible grades you can get. There are 9 UC’s with varying ranges of selectivity. If you continue to do well, take a rigorous HS schedule, get competitive test scores and continue with your EC’s, you should be a competitive applicant. There are thousands of colleges in the US, so there will be many schools out there for you and not just the UC’s.

I currently have a 3.8 unweighted GPA…don’t UC’s focus on GPA more than they do EC’s? I fear that my EC’s are much more competitive than my GPA