Chances of UCSD/UCLA? Please help!

Hi, I just applied to UCSD and UCLA. I have an overall GPA of 4.31 and a SAT score of 1220/1600. I’m really scared that I won’t get in because of my SAT score. I scored 700/800 in Math and 520/800 in English (I suck at English, particularly because I don’t like analyzing). I took a total of 9 AP classes in Highschool and 3 Honors Classes. I play club soccer and I am the captain. In addition, I am the captain for varsity soccer as well and have been on varsity since I was a sophomore. I have over 400 hours in community service as well, and I’m involved in Organizations such as The American Youth Soccer Organization where I have been a volunteer referee since freshman year. I applied for Structural Engineering (UCSD) and Civil Engineering (UCLA). Do I have a good chance of getting into either?

Your SAT scores are below the 25th percentile for both schools. Your GPA is on target and since UC’s are more GPA focused that will help you. I think both schools will be a tough admit considering both schools had admitted applicants with SAT scores over 700 for both Math and Critical Reading. Make sure you have some solid Match and Safety schools on your list and hopefully your EC’s will help your chances.

Good Luck.

Hard to say but, probably not. Be sure to apply elsewhere.
Good luck.

Here is where reading scores fall of the accepted students at UCLA:
400-499: 7%
500-599: 23%
600-699: 41% (avg 641)
700-800: 29%

For UCSD Reading:
400-499: 4%
500-599: 30%
600-699: 47% (avg 628)
700-800: 19%

So as you can see some people with your score do get accepted. Also, you just never know with these things: you have an excellent GPA, tough workload and hopefully great essays. I’d say you have a shot! Just remember overall acceptance rates are 17% for UCLA and 35% for UCSD so from that perspective it’s a little tough.