ChemE questions

<p>I'm an international admitted student to undergraduate UW -- engineering department.</p>

<p>I have heard that the first year of engineering is just general engineering, then the second year we get to select the field which we desire to go to.
From this, I have the concern that there must be some students who won't make it to the field they want due to the limited space of the field. So, if any one could tell me how hard it is to get into Chemical Engineering at UW? Would there be any possible problems?</p>

<p>Another thing I'm anxious about is that the number of years it take to graduate for Chemical Engineering. I heard that it takes typically five years.I have always had the mindset that undergraduate would take four years. It appalled me when I find out that it would take me five, or possibly six years. How hard is it to graduate in four years? Is it even possible in three years?</p>

<p>Thank you in advance for all replies.</p>

<p>The best site for your answers is the UW College of Engineering site of the UW website. Many of your freshman/sophomore courses will actually be in the College of Letters and Sciences- math, chemistry, physics… You will be a pre-engineering student and need to get at least a 2.5 gpa in the required courses to be admitted to the College of Engineering. Looking at the Chem E site it appears there is room for all who qualify- some majors are limited by space available and can be competitive. If you are a transfer student you may have also applied to the engineering college as well as the university as a whole. </p>