Chemistry or Psychology for IBDP?

<p>Hello guys. I am a high school sophomore and I am going to take the IBDP for my junior and senior years. The problemis that I plan to go in in the field of finance/economics but my parents want me to keep a back up for engineering/computer science and take chemistry. But I am really interested in psychology and want to take it up as a whim even though I have no idea about it as a subject. Is there any practical advantage of me taking chemistry such as more preference in colloges? This is how my subjects look at the moment..</p>

<p>HL
Economics
Math
Physics</p>

<p>SL
Psychology/Chemistry
English L&L
French B</p>

<p>So the decision is between Psych or chemistry..</p>

<p>I’m sure your finance/economics pursuit will be better served by the option to take IB Chem. Chemistry problems will help develop those critical thinking skills fundamental to complex financial analysis. “Critical thinking is the intellectually disciplined process of actively and skillfully conceptualizing, applying, analyzing, synthesizing, and/or evaluating information gathered from, or generated by, observation, experience, reflection, reasoning, or communication, as a guide to belief and action.” Finally, you’ll sharpen your applied math skills. Do it! </p>

<p>@KnightOne Neither of them are particularly important for finance/economics. But I asked my dad who works in finance which would be more useful and he said psychology. This is because it will help you understand clients better and many college require you to take psychology if you want to major in finance (my dad had to). </p>

<p>Regarding engineering/computer science, chemistry will only be helpful with some engineering disciplines but it more useful than useless. </p>